Skip to main content

Australian Designers: Australian Designers

Year 12 Design and Technology

Finding Resources in Oliver

 

Here are some books that you may find useful during your studies.  Search the Bennies catalogue Oliver for more, or browse the Non-fiction collection NFS.

 

OverDrive e-books and audiobooks

Read or Download our latest eBook or Audiobooks on OverDrive

Research Tools for Students

Images

 

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Heidi_Middleton,_Sarah-Jane_Clarke_(8595166770).jpg

 

 

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Alex_Perry.jpg

 

 

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Catherine_Martin_(Australian_designer).jpg

Khan Academy

Other useful links

Gallery of Australian design

The Gallery of Australian Design aims to promote Australian Design. The website provides information about its exhibitions and events. The website provides links to related design websites.

 

Charlie Brown

One of Australia’s leading fashion designers, Charlie Brown began her career in 1982 in San Francisco. Working in retail sales for Esprit, Charlie Brown developed a love for fashion and design. After gaining valuable experience in the fashion industry, in 1985 Charlie Brown realised it was time for a change – all the way to Australia, where she spent seven years at the design helm of Howard Showers.

Following her dreams and passion, in 1995 Charlie Brown launched her self-titled label, Charlie Brown. The designs are sexy, playful, beautifully constructed and tailored. The Charlie Brown label moved from strength to strength launching the eclectic and glamorous Princess Charlotte red carpet collection in 2000.

 

AGDA : graphic designers-

Graphic Design is an interdisciplinary, problem-solving activity which combines visual sensitivity with skill and knowledge in areas of communications, technology and business. Graphic design practitioners specialise in the structuring and organizing of visual information to aid communication and orientation(1). The graphic design process is a problem solving process, one that requires substantial creativity, innovation and technical expertise. An understanding of a client's product or service and goals, their competitors and the target audience is translated into a visual solution created from the manipulation, combination and utilisation of shape, color, imagery, typography and space.

Design Tasmania-

Design Tasmania promotes contemporary craft and design and is home to the Design Tasmania Wood Collection plus a dynamic program of contemporary craft and design related exhibitions and projects. Design Tasmania is a founding member and secretariat of the Tasmanian Design Alliance and coordinates the annual Design Tasmania Awards.
Design Tasmania is a not-for-profit organisation with operations, exhibitions and programs supported in part through Arts Tasmania by the Minister for the Arts and by the Visual Arts and Craft Strategy, an initiative of the Australian, State and Territory Governments. Design Tasmania is also assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.

 

Furniture Designers Association

The FDA was established in Tasmania in 1995 by a group of furniture designers and designer-makers, consisting of established professionals, staff and recent graduates from the Furniture Design program at the University of Tasmania.
Its mission is to represent, develop and promote excellence in the professional practice of contemporary furniture design.

 

Bluestarfish : web and multimedia designers

Bluestarfish is a fresh, new web design and multimedia business based on the northern beaches of Sydney, Australia.

 

Sass and Bide:

The website of fashion designers Sass and Bide shows their recent collections and profile.

 

BVN Donovan Hill

BVN Donovan Hill is one of Australia’s largest architectural practices, widely acknowledged for award-winning design across a broad and diverse portfolio in Australia and overseas.

 

Victorian Wood Workers Association

The Victorian Wood Workers Association website provides information about Australian timbers (especially Victorian) and their uses. The website also provides health and safety information and exhibits of the work of wood-workers.

 

Willow

The website of Willow fashion and lingerie collection designed by Kit Willow Podgornik, shows her recent collections.

 

Cox Architecture

Cox Architecture originated as a partnership between Philip Cox and Ian McKay. Today it is one of Australia's largest architectural practices.

 

Australian Designers

Australian Fashion Week

Academic Searching

Always consider how you search.  If you use inverted commas (eg. "Ancient Egypt") you will perform a more accurate search. 

Also, consider limiting the results to educational insitutions by adding site:.edu to your search terms

Online Referencing Generator

Referencing using the Harvard Author-Date System

SweetSearch

Hornsby Library