Skip to Main Content
The Art of Fiction
The Art of Fiction by David Lodge
The articles with which David Lodge entertained and enlightened readers of the Independent on Sunday and The Washington Post are now revised, expanded and collected together in book form. The art of fiction is considered under a wide range of headings, such as the Intrusive Author, Suspense, the Epistolary Novel, Time-shift, Magical Realism and Symbolism, and each topic is illustrated by a passage or two taken from classic or modern fiction. Drawing on writers as diverse as Henry James and Martin Amis, Jane Austen and Fay Weldon and Henry Fielding and James Joyce, David Lodge makes accessible to the general reader the richness and variety of British and American fiction. Technical terms, such as Interior Monologue, Metafiction, Intertextuality and the Unreliable Narrator, are lucidly explained and their application demonstrated. Bringing to criticism the verve and humour of his own novels, David Lodge has provided essential reading for students of literature, aspirant writers, and anyone who wishes to understand how literature works.
Call Number: CPS 9A3
ISBN: 9780140174922
Publication Date: 1994
Myths and Legends One
Myths & Legends One by Richard Baines
Myths and legends two consists of two traditional stories, and on the flipside of the book, modern stories based on the traditional ones
Call Number: CPS 9A6
ISBN: 9780195567984
Publication Date: 2009
Senior English Outcomes
Senior English Outcomes : Stage 6 by L Dippel & F. Pollack
Senior English Outcomes covers the outcomes of the NSW Stage 6 English syllabus in a practical and accessible way. The book addresses the outcomes of the Standard English Preliminary and HSC course. It delivers the theory and skills that students need to learn in order to be able to study their electives, prescribed texts and areas of study. There are plenty of activities to choose from that are carefully designed to help students achieve outcomes.
Call Number: CPS EA4
ISBN: 9781741250008
Publication Date: 2003
Text Types in English 2
Text Types in English 2 by Kathy & Mark Anderson
This lively series offers a refreshingly different approach to English by focusing on factual and literary text types. It provides a sound framework for studying language through text in a way that will interest students as well as help them to develop the skills they need.
Text types in English 2 covers narrative, procedure, information report and exposition.
Call Number: CPS EB5
ISBN: 9780732943868
Publication Date: 1997
Northanger Abbey and Persuasion : casebook
Jane Austen: Northanger Abbey and Persuasion by Brian C. Southam (Editor)
Each Macmillan Casebook concerns a classic of English literature or a significant modern work. (Occasional volumes in the series will deal with closely related works) Each Casebook brings together the best of modern criticism, along with a generous selection of earlier reviews and comment, and any useful information that readers might need. The Introduction discusses the critical reputation of the work from the time of its publication to the present day. Each volume aims to give its readers a heightened sense of the interest and vitality of the work under discussion, and of the value of a critical response.
Call Number: CPS 9A2
ISBN: 9780333192085
Publication Date: 1991
Success in Crime Writing
Success in Crime Writing by Bruce Pattinson and Suzan Pattinson
This book contains notes and activities on Crime Writing that will enable you to get a working definition and complete understanding of the topic. Contains:
- plot summary
- character analysis
- theme study
- relationship elective
- related texts
- workshop activities
- a variety of writing tasks
- questions and short responses
Notes and activities on P.D. James' The skull beneath the skin -- Alfred Hitchcock's Rear window -- Tom Stoppard's The real inspector hound -- Michael Ondaatje's Anil's ghost.
Call Number: CPS 9A3
ISBN: 9781741300659
Publication Date: 2008
Seven Ages
Seven Ages : as anthology of writing by Brian Keyte
Seven Ages is an anthology of writing from around the world, based on the concept of Shakespeare's 'seven ages' of humankind - from childhood through to old age. It covers the broad spectrum of emotions and experiences typical of each age - love, war, work, play, sport and creativity - as seen through the eyes of writers such as Virginia Woolf, Tim Winton, Ingmar Bergman, Sally Morgan, Harper Lee, John Marsden, Helen Garner, Germaine Greer, Sylvia Plath, Colin Thiele, John Updike, Ooderoo Noonuccal, Peter Carey, Judith Wright, Kenneth Slessor, Paul Kelly, Philip Larkin, David Malouf, Dylan Thomas, Bruce Dawe and Kate Grenville and many others.
At the end of each chapter is a 'student spotlight', featuring exemplary student work on each subject.
Each piece of writing has been selected to stimulate students to think, write and discuss; and the exercises have been designed to focus attention on key issues raised by the material and to suggest further activity.
Call Number: CPS EB6
ISBN: 9780582806818
Publication Date: 1996
Nelson Senior English
Nelson Senior English by Vic Guest
Nelson Senior English is a concise and comprehensive text that systematically develops the essential skills needed for the study of senior Englsih. Written to meet the requirements of the new VCE English Study Design, this book with its thorough coverage of all the key English skills will prove invaluable for an senior English Course.
Call Number: CPS NA1
ISBN: 9780170101394
Publication Date: 2000
Myths and Legends
Myths and Legends by Sandy Cahir
Myths and Legends is a stunning source book for this ever-popular integrated theme. Concentrating on Greek myths and legends, this book presents the age-old stories in conjunction with practical activities and exercises aimed at the development of fundamental and extended language skills.
Call Number: CPS 9A5
ISBN: 9781740813648
Publication Date: 2004
Close Encounters with Texts
Close Encounters with Texts by Elaine & Peter Robins
Close Encounters with Texts is a stimulating anthology of fiction and non-fiction texts for middle secondary students.
It is designed to help students in the following ways:
- to identify the different genres they encounter in their reading
- to position themselves as readers by understanding how their own values and beliefs influence the way they interpret texts
- to become aware of alternatives to the 'dominant' reading.
Call Number: CPS EA4
ISBN: 9780195537789
Publication Date: 1995
Text Types in English 1
Text Types in English 1 by Kathy & Mark Anderson
This lively series offers a refreshingly different approach to English by focusing on factual and literary text types. It provides a sound framework for studying language through text in a way that will interest students as well as help them to develop the skills they need.
Text types in English 1 covers poetry,drama, recount, explanation and discussion.
Call Number: CPS EB2
ISBN: 9780732943851
Publication Date: 1997
Textual Journeys
Textual Journeys by Maree Herrett et al.
An excellent introduction to critical theory for Senior English, Textual Journeys - Exploring Senior English has been written to meet the requirements of the NSW Stage 6 English syllabus. Textual Journeys is the first concise and comprehensive student book of its kind to demystify literary theory. Each chapter provides signposts to help students find their way around the world of critical theory.
Call Number: CPS NA4
ISBN: 9780170108195
Publication Date: 2003
The Art of Fiction by
The articles with which David Lodge entertained and enlightened readers of the Independent on Sunday and The Washington Post are now revised, expanded and collected together in book form. The art of fiction is considered under a wide range of headings, such as the Intrusive Author, Suspense, the Epistolary Novel, Time-shift, Magical Realism and Symbolism, and each topic is illustrated by a passage or two taken from classic or modern fiction. Drawing on writers as diverse as Henry James and Martin Amis, Jane Austen and Fay Weldon and Henry Fielding and James Joyce, David Lodge makes accessible to the general reader the richness and variety of British and American fiction. Technical terms, such as Interior Monologue, Metafiction, Intertextuality and the Unreliable Narrator, are lucidly explained and their application demonstrated. Bringing to criticism the verve and humour of his own novels, David Lodge has provided essential reading for students of literature, aspirant writers, and anyone who wishes to understand how literature works.
Myths & Legends One by
Myths and legends two consists of two traditional stories, and on the flipside of the book, modern stories based on the traditional ones
Senior English Outcomes : Stage 6 by
Senior English Outcomes covers the outcomes of the NSW Stage 6 English syllabus in a practical and accessible way. The book addresses the outcomes of the Standard English Preliminary and HSC course. It delivers the theory and skills that students need to learn in order to be able to study their electives, prescribed texts and areas of study. There are plenty of activities to choose from that are carefully designed to help students achieve outcomes.
Text Types in English 2 by
This lively series offers a refreshingly different approach to English by focusing on factual and literary text types. It provides a sound framework for studying language through text in a way that will interest students as well as help them to develop the skills they need.
Text types in English 2 covers narrative, procedure, information report and exposition.
Jane Austen: Northanger Abbey and Persuasion by
Each Macmillan Casebook concerns a classic of English literature or a significant modern work. (Occasional volumes in the series will deal with closely related works) Each Casebook brings together the best of modern criticism, along with a generous selection of earlier reviews and comment, and any useful information that readers might need. The Introduction discusses the critical reputation of the work from the time of its publication to the present day. Each volume aims to give its readers a heightened sense of the interest and vitality of the work under discussion, and of the value of a critical response.
Nelson Senior English by
Nelson Senior English is a concise and comprehensive text that systematically develops the essential skills needed for the study of senior Englsih. Written to meet the requirements of the new VCE English Study Design, this book with its thorough coverage of all the key English skills will prove invaluable for an senior English Course.
Myths and Legends by
Myths and Legends is a stunning source book for this ever-popular integrated theme. Concentrating on Greek myths and legends, this book presents the age-old stories in conjunction with practical activities and exercises aimed at the development of fundamental and extended language skills.
Close Encounters with Texts by
Close Encounters with Texts is a stimulating anthology of fiction and non-fiction texts for middle secondary students.
It is designed to help students in the following ways:
- to identify the different genres they encounter in their reading
- to position themselves as readers by understanding how their own values and beliefs influence the way they interpret texts
- to become aware of alternatives to the 'dominant' reading.
Text Types in English 1 by
This lively series offers a refreshingly different approach to English by focusing on factual and literary text types. It provides a sound framework for studying language through text in a way that will interest students as well as help them to develop the skills they need.
Text types in English 1 covers poetry,drama, recount, explanation and discussion.
Textual Journeys by
An excellent introduction to critical theory for Senior English, Textual Journeys - Exploring Senior English has been written to meet the requirements of the NSW Stage 6 English syllabus. Textual Journeys is the first concise and comprehensive student book of its kind to demystify literary theory. Each chapter provides signposts to help students find their way around the world of critical theory.