LibGuides: Reproduction: Genetics & DNA

Resources in Accessit

Here are some books that you may find useful during your studies. Search the Bennies catalogue Accessit for more, or browse the Non-fiction collection NFS.

The Basics of Genetics by Anne Wanjie (Editor)
ISBN: 9781477705520
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
The revolution in genetics represents one of the most amazing expansions of knowledge in the history of science. Incredible advances such as the mapping of the human genome are continuing to unlock the mysteries of heredity. This title gives students the power to understand this fascinating area of biology by starting with the basics. The science behind each concept is explained with clear text and a wealth of informative illustrations, color images, and sidebars. Biographical material on Gregor Mendel, the first person to describe how traits are passed from generation to generation, shows readers how the genetic revolution began. The text fulfills the requirements of the Common Core by helping readers learn the meaning of key terms as they are used in the context of biology. It also helps readers synthesize textual and visual information into a coherent understanding of genetic processes.
Britannica Illustrated Science Library by Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc. Staff (Compiled by)
ISBN: 9781593393885
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Evolution and Genetics, is one book in the Britannica Illustrated Science Library Series that is correlated to the science curriculum in grades 5-8. The Britannica Illustrated Science Library is a visually compelling set that covers earth science, life science, and physical science in 16 volumes. Created for ages 10 and up, each volume provides an overview on a subject and thoroughly explains it through detailed and powerful graphics-more than 1,000 per volume-that turn complex subjects into information that students can grasp. Each volume contains a glossary with full definitions for vocabulary help and an index.
Human genetics and ethics by Healey, Justin
Call Number: NFS 599.9 HUM
ISBN: 9781925339666
Publication Date: 2018
Each cell in the human body contains about 20,000 genes. Genes carry the information that determines the traits that are passed on to you, or inherited, from your parents. Genes are the instructions for the growth and development of our bodies, however mutations in a person's genome can result in a genetic condition or disease. How do the building blocks of the human body - DNA, genes and chromosomes - interrelate and interact with the environment, and contribute to a range of serious diseases? What are the dilemmas, risks and regulations associated with genetic testing and its related privacy and discrimination issues, the corporate patenting of people's genes, and the growing prospects of human genetic enhancement? What are the ethical implications of gene therapies and emerging biotechnology techniques like gene editing (CRISPR) in the manipulation of the human genome, such as the recent controversial development of three-parent babies? In this new era of personalised medicine are we as a species, going too far, or are we on a promising path to curing many deadly diseases? Does this all amount to scientific progress, or are we playing God with our own genes?

ClickView

DNA, genes and chromosomes are the structures containing the genetic material of humans. Find out about these structures, what happens to them during cell division or meiosis, and how genetic material is inherited. This programme contains diagrams of the DNA molecule and processes such as cell division and the use of Punnett Squares to predict offspring ratios.

You Tube

Hank introduces us to that wondrous molecule deoxyribonucleic acid - also known as DNA - and explains how it replicates itself in our cells.

Issues of genetics and DNA are constantly cropping up in the news from food production and health, to legal cases and ethics. We hear about DNA in movies like Jurassic Park and X-men, we learn bits and pieces about it from TV shows like Dexter and and CSI, but what exactly is DNA, and how does it work? This animated short film has been made for those wanting a simple introduction (or even a refresher) on how DNA creates a living creature. In this video you will learn a bit about genetic code, DNA transcription and translation, and the importance of proteins in the chemistry of life.

Explore DNA structure/function, chromosomes, genes, and traits and how this relates to heredity! Video can replace old DNA structure & function video and in addition covers foundational concepts of heredity.

Scientific American editor Eric R. Olson untangles the relationship between the most fundamental components of our biology.

Health Centre for Genetics

Learn about genes, DNA, genetic patterns of inheritance and genetic conditions.

Khan Academy

What exactly is DNA? This seemingly simple polymer, made up of just four different types of monomers, serves as the genetic material for all living organisms. For example, your DNA provides instructions for building and maintaining your unique body and can be passed on if you have children. Learn more about the discovery, structure, and synthesis of this remarkable molecule.