It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some books that you may find useful during your studies. Search the Bennies catalogue Accessitfor more, or browse the Non-fiction collection NFS..
Terrorism and security by Hunter, Nick
Call Number: NFS 363.325 HUN
Publication Date: 2012
Table of contents includes: Panic over Detroit -- What is terrorism? -- Tools and tactics -- What are terrorists trying to achieve? -- Racting to terrorism -- Protecting people -- Fighting terrorism -- Tackling the causes of terrorism -- Terrorism around the world.
Terrorism by Hibbert, Adam
Call Number: NFS 303.6 HIB
Publication Date: 2002
Un Action Against Terrorism by Heather Docalavich
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Terrorism : a look at the way the world is today by Donohoe, Helen
Call Number: NFS 303.625 DON
Publication Date: 2006
All too often we are reminded that terrorism continues to inflict pain and suffering on people all over the world. Hardly a week goes by without an act of terrorism taking place somewhere in the world, indiscriminately affecting innocent people, who just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. Countering this scourge is in the interest of all nations and the issue has been on the agenda of the United Nations for decades.
This video outlines Australia’s National Terrorism Threat Advisory System. The National Terrorism Threat Advisory System is a scale of five levels to provide advice about the likelihood of an act of terrorism occurring in Australia:
When is an event considered "terrorism," and when is it not? Who decides? The notoriously vague term is clarified.
Despite what most people think, terrorism is not really about mass murder. The primary goal of a terrorist attack is to strike fear and panic in the heart and minds of oridinary civilians. It's all about the psychological impact rather the physical damage. In this report we look at the reality of terrorist organizations and how sophisticated they really are. Furthmore we discuss how media exposure contributes to fearmongering.
ABC News- Current affairs and stories relating to terrorism.
Global Terrorism Database
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2014 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 140,000 cases.
Throughout human history, there have been many threats to the security of nations. These threats have brought about large-scale losses of life, the destruction of property, widespread illness and injury, the displacement of large numbers of people and devastating economic loss. Recent technological advances and ongoing political unrest are components of the increased risk to national security. Learn what actions to include in your family disaster plan to prepare for and respond to terrorist threat.
Australia's Counter Terrorism Laws -Australia's laws against terrorism are in Part 5.3 of the Criminal Code Act 1995 (Criminal Code). Australia's laws against foreign incursions and recruitment are in Part 5.5 of the Criminal Code. This department administers the Act.