LibGuides: History: Home

Retroactive 1 (3rd ed)

Retroactive 1 : world history stage 4 by Maureen Anderson et al. In this edition of Retroactive 1, there are additional topics, new sources and greater focus on skills, giving students and teachers a comprehensive coverage of the most popular stage 4 World History topics.
Call Number: CPS HB8
ISBN: 9780731409938
Publication Date: 2019

Retroactive 2 : stage 5, Australian history by Maureen Anderson et al. ontents includes: Australia to 1914 -- Australia and World War I -- Australia between the wars -- Australia and World War II -- Australia in the Vietnam War era -- Changing rights and freedoms -- People power and politics in the post-war period -- Australia's social and cultural history in the post-war period.
Call Number: CPS 2A7
ISBN: 9780731409952
Publication Date: 2010

Key features of modern history by Bruce Dennett & Bruce Dixon Key Features of Modern History Fourth Edition has been completely revised and updated and offers comprehensive coverage of the Preliminary and HSC content for Modern History students in full colour. The stimulating and accessible narrative, incorporating the latest historiography and scholarship, includes a wide range of new written and visual sources, and student tasks and activities.
Call Number: CPS HA5
ISBN: 9780195565683
Publication Date: 2008

Society & culture : preliminary and HSC by Kate Thompson Designed to provide an insight into various societies and cultural differences and to prepare students to live in the world as culturally literate individuals. This new edition contains many new features including activities to build exam skills and a detailed framework for completing the Personal interest project.
Call Number: CPS HA6
ISBN: 9780170365505
Publication Date: 2015

Heinemann outcomes : history, ancient and medieval by Robert Darlington This book is a new, full-colour, inquiry-based student text written to meet the outcomes of both the Curriculum and Standards Framework and the National Profile in the SOSE key learning areas. The book mainly covers the Level 5 outcomes in the Time, Continuity and Change strand as well as the inquiry strategies - Investigation, Communication and Participation. To ensure that all abilities are catered for, the book also covers some Level 4 and 6 outcomes.
Call Number: CPS 1A5
ISBN: 9780858597983
Publication Date: 1996

Extension history : the historians by Ken Webb Table of contents includes: What is history? -- Herodotus -- Polybius -- Other ancient historians -- Bede -- Gibbon -- Macaulay -- Von Ranke -- Christopher Hill & Marxist historiography -- The annalists -- Elton, Carr & Berlin -- Postmodernism, Relativism, Deconstructionism-- -- Henry Reynolds & Keith Windshuttle.
Call Number: CPS 1B2
ISBN: 9780858540354
Publication Date: 2006

History extension resource book This resource book is designed to assist teachers and students in developing their own approach to the History Extension course. There is some coverage of core knowledge for the What is history? component of the course and considerable detail is provided for the three Case Studies that are included. Largely however, the intention is to offer an orientation and structure that will help to stimulate and guide a student's own research and discussion. This intention is supported with the provision of a wide range of overviews, guidelines, references, sources, examples, discussion starters and suggestions for activities and further research."--Back cover. "Using this book - HistoryExtension is a unique course. It offers students the opportunity to carry out historical research at a high level, it encourageswide reading, it requires students to engage in a fascinating but challenging discussion and the examination calls for written communication skills that display knowlwdge, originality and genuine individual insight inro the complex nature of history. There is also a dynamic aspect to the course that allows it to evolve and reflect contemporary issues. This meanns that it cannot be catered for by a single comprehensive course book."--Page iv. For use with Secondary school children
Call Number: CPS 2A6
ISBN: 9780858543836
Publication Date: 2017

History and the historians by John Warren History and the Historians provides a lively introduction to the writers of history from Classical times to present day. The author bears in mind the needs of students by offering a framework for evaluating historians' work and providing extracts from their writings. He also discusses the value of history in its widest sense, including such issues as the distortion of history and its use for political ends.
Call Number: CPS 1A6
ISBN: 9780340679913
Publication Date: 1999

Fifty Key Thinkers on History by Marnie Hughes-Warrington (Editor) Fifty Key Thinkers on History is a superb guide to historiography through the ages. The cross-section of debates and thinkers covered is unique in its breadth, taking in figures from ancient China, Greece and Rome, through the Middle Ages, to contemporary Europe, America, Africa and Australia; from Bede to Braudel; Marx to Michelet; Ranke to Rowbotham; Foucault to Fukuyama. Each clear and concise essay offers biographical information, a summary and discussion of the subjects approach to history and how others have engaged with it, a list of their major works and a guide to diverse resources for further study, including books, articles, films and websites.
Call Number: CPS 1A5
ISBN: 9780415366519
Publication Date: 2007