Skip to Main Content
The Fall of the Roman Republic
Fall of the Roman Republic 78 BC - 31 BC by Ken Webb
On cover: Here it is : the factual detail, the historiography, revision exercises and advice on how to write essays on the fall of the Republic 78-31 BC.
On title page: Everything you wanted to know about conflict in Europe 1935-1945, but were afraid to ask.
For the new ancient history syllabus 2018-2019.
Call Number: CPS HB1
ISBN: 9780648363965
Publication Date: 2019
Ancient Rome
Ancient Rome by Simon James
Full-color photos. An excellent glossy catalogue of entertaining information about a civilization of antiquity. Family life, household effects, cosmetics, sports, children's dress and games--all these and more are on display in eye-filling spreads. Either read chronologically or browsed through, each page offers up a sterling visual feast guaranteed to spur discussion and provoke thinking about the early Romans
Call Number: CPS 2A6
ISBN: 9780732200855
Publication Date: 1990
Ancient Rome : Using Evidence
Ancient Rome by Pamela Bradley
This text presents a detailed coverage of three crucial centuries in the history of the Roman people: the second and first centuries BC and the first century AD. It examines major issues including the development of the Roman republican form of government, Rome's expansion in the Mediterranean, the decline of the republic, the founding of the principate and the Julio-Claudian period. The introductory chapters will familiarise students with the source material and give them an understanding of those events and influences which played a large part in moulding the character of the Romans and the nature of their institutions. These chapters are essential reading for any student who wishes to understand clearly the complicated political history of the second and first centuries BC. The ancient sources and archaeological material serve both to describe events and to allow students to evaluate and interpret historical documents and pictorial evidence. Throughout the text exercises enable students to recognise differing interpretations, distinguish between fact and opinion and discern bias.
Call Number: CPS 2B1
ISBN: 9780521793919
Publication Date: 2000
I was there : Roman Empire
Roman empire by John D. Clare
Around 1600 BC, Rome began as a collection of wooden huts on a group of seven hills near the River Tiber in Italy. By AD 114, it had become the centre of the greatest empire ever known. Yet, less than 400 years later, Rome had been plundered by barbarians, the last emperor in Rome had been deposed and Western Europe entered the Dark Ages. What were the reasons for Rome's spectacular rise and fall? Based on contemporary evidence, this volume explores the great strengths of the Roman Army; the succession of brilliant, shrewd, mad and bad emperors; and the methods used to govern and subdue the provinces. Photographic re-enactments, combined with the text, aim to bring the Roman Empire to life for a 20th-century readership.
Call Number: CPS 1B6
ISBN: 9780370317472
Publication Date: 1992
Agrippina the Younger
Agrippina the Younger by Ken Webb
ystematically follows the New NSW Syllabus (introduced 2018/19)
Includes comprehensive, accurate and factual detail
Includes views of top historians
Includes expert advice on how to write quality HSC essays and responses
Includes easy to understand diagrammatic summaries
Includes revision exercises on each chapter
Call Number: CPS 1B4
ISBN: 9780648363927
Publication Date: 2019
Julius Caesar
Julius Caesar by Graham Tingay
In this title in the "Cambridge Introduction to World History Series" the life, achievement and importance of Julius Caesar, from his early years, to his assumption of dictitorial power over the Roman Empire, and his brutal death, is given a fully illustrated account.
Call Number: CPS 2B4
Publication Date: 1991
Pompey and Caesar
Pompey and Caesar : compiled from Plutarch, Suetonius and other ancient sources : book III by Martin Forrest
This book tells the fascinating story of the rise of Pompey and Caesar and their battle for power. The account of their lives consists largely of translated extracts from ancient biographers, and there is also material on related aspects of the period and Roman life. A clear distinction is made in the text between the linking passages and the words of ancient writers.
There is also an outline of the constitutional and social background to the events described, so that the powerful personalities of both men are seen in the light of their own time. The texts are illustrated with maps and photographs which provide additional evidence foe the last years of the Roman Republic.
Call Number: CPS 2B7
ISBN: 9780521286992
Publication Date: 1986
From the Gracchi to Nero
From the Gracchi to Nero by Howard H. Scullard
Scullard's clear and comprehensive narrative covers the period from 133 BC to 69 AD, exploring the decline and fall of the Republic, and the establishment of the Pax Romana under the early Principate. More than forty years after its first publication this masterful survey remains the standard textbook on the central period of Roman history.
Call Number: CPS 1B7
ISBN: 9780416328905
Publication Date: 1982
Cities of Vesuvius (2018)
Pompeii and Herculaneum Year 12 by Pamela Bradley
Beginning with the eruption of Vesuvius and the devastation it caused, this book examines the history of excavations, the physical landscape and the nature of available sources and evidence. It also comprehensively explores the social life, economy, politics, religion, architecture and entertainment in the cities of Pompeii and Herculaneum, as well as the influence of Greece and Hellenistic culture.
Call Number: CPS HB6
ISBN: 9781108333009
Publication Date: 2018
Cities of Vesuvius (2005)
Cities of Vesuvius by Pamela Bradley
From the eruption of Vesuvius and the devastation it caused, the book covers the history of excavations, the physical landscapes and the nature of sources and evidence of the cities of Pompeii and Herculaneum.
It details the social life, economy, politics, religion, architecture and entertainment of the time, as well as the influence of Greece and Hellenistic culture. The changing archaeological methods and interpretations are also examined as well as the ethical issues of destruction and conservation.
Full of visual material and a variety of sources, the book features diagrammatic chapter summaries and a wealth of activities suitable for students studying this topic for the HSC course.
Call Number: CPS 2B2
ISBN: 9780521608954
Publication Date: 2005
Secrets of Vesuvius
Secrets of Vesuvius : unlocking the sources from Pompeii and Herculaneum by Kate Cameron & Jenny Lawless
Secrets of Vesuvius: Unlocking the sources from Pompeii and Herculaneum is a full-colour text written to meet the course requirements for the HSC Ancient History Core Study: 'Cities of Vesuvius ' Pompeii and Herculaneum' specifically. Developed by experienced Ancient History teachers and award-winning authors, Secrets of Vesuvius draws on the latest research and academic scholarship to provide extensive stimulus material for students. Includes a CD-ROM containing: ' Interviews with a ceramics expert and archaeology students, plus interview discussion points ' Photographs of Pompeii and Herculaneum, annotated to assist students' understanding of a range of sources and what they reveal about life in the ancient past.
Call Number: CPS 2A5
ISBN: 9780170127813
Publication Date: 2006
Cities of Vesuvius
Cities of Vesuvius : interpreting the evidence by Brian Brennan
A comprehensive textbook based on the most up-to-date scholarship and designed for senior students studying Pompeii and Herculaneum. The book provides material on the eruption of Vesuvius, political and social life in the towns, housing, trade and commerce, religion, archaeological investigations and present-day conservation issues.
Call Number: CPS HB2
ISBN: 9780646910376
Publication Date: 2014
Herculaneum : a sourcebook
Herculaneum : a sourcebook by Brian Brennan
Herculaneum, a small Roman town on the Bay of Naples, was destroyed in AD 79 by the same catastrophic eruption of Vesuvius that buried Pompeii. Sealed deep under a layer of hardened volcanic sludge the town is still only partly excavated.
Each year thousands of visitors walk the silent streets of the town and explore the reconstructed houses, shops and public buildings of this open-air museum of Roman life.
The documents collected here illustrate Herculaneum's early history and its destruction, politics and commerce, religion and leisure as well as the rediscovery and excavation of the town. Accompanied by introductory material, notes, plans and photographs, these translated sources will be of interest to those who plan to visit the town itself or who simply enjoy Roman social history.
Call Number: CPS 2A3
ISBN: 9780975696330
Publication Date: 2012
The Lives of the Twelve Caesars
The Twelve Caesars by Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus; Robert Graves (Translator); Michael Grant (Introduction by, Revised by)
As private secretary to the Emperor Hadrian, the scholar Suetonius had access to the imperial archives and used them (along with eyewitness accounts) to produce one of the most colourful biographical works in history. The Twelve Caesars chronicles the public careers and private lives of the men who wielded absolute power over Rome, from the foundation of the empire under Julius Caesar and Augustus, to the decline into depravity and civil war under Nero and the recovery that came with his successors. A masterpiece of observation, anecdote and detailed physical description, The Twelve Caesars presents us with a gallery of vividly drawn – and all too human – individuals.
Call Number: CPS 2B6
ISBN: 9780140449211
Publication Date: 2003
The Annals of Imperial Rome
Fall of the Roman Republic
The Fall of the Roman Republic by Plutarch; Robin Seager (Introduction by, Notes by); Rex Warner (Translator)
Dramatic artist, natural scientist and philosopher, Plutarch is widely regarded as the most significant historian of his era, writing sharp and succinct accounts of the greatest politicians and statesman of the classical period. Taken from The Lives, a series of biographies spanning the Graeco-Roman age, this collection illuminates the twilight of the old Roman Republic from 157-43 BC. Whether describing the would-be dictators Marius and Sulla, the battle between Crassus and Spartacus, the death of political idealist Crato, Julius Caesar's harrowing triumph in Gaul or the eloquent oratory of Cicero, all offer a fascinating insight into an empire wracked by political divisions. Deeply influential on Shakespeare and many other later writers, they continue to fascinate today with their exploration of corruption, decadence and the struggle for ultimate power.
Call Number: CPS 2B5
ISBN: 9780140440843
Publication Date: 1954
