Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Resources in Oliver
Here are some books that you may find useful during your studies. Search the Bennies catalogue Oliver for more, or browse the Non-fiction collection NFS..
Philip's guide to the oceans by
Call Number: 551.46 PER
Publication Date: 2004
An illustrated guide to the world's oceans and seas, featuring over 250 photographs, maps and diagrams and a comprehensive, authoritative text.
The atlas of coasts and oceans by
Publication Date: 2011
Oceans drive the world's climate, nurture marine ecosystems full of aquatic life, and provide shipping lanes that have defined the global economy for centuries.
Ocean : revealing the secrets of the deep by
Call Number: 551.46 RIC
Publication Date: 2007
Examines every facet of a remarkable environment, from plate tectonics to the effects of the moon, phytoplankton to blue whales. It traces Man's efforts to probe the deep in the aid of scientific discovery; it also covers his less worthy activities regarding the environment, the ramifications of which remain uncertain.
Destroying the Oceans by
Call Number: NFS 333.91 LEV
Publication Date: 2012
1.Marine environment: Australian oceans are under threat - not just from global warming -
but also from us.
2.Death of the oceans?: David Attenborough investigates what is happening to our oceans - and whether it is too late to save their remarkable biodiversity.
3.Fish sustainability: Covers topics such as fish ecology, the fishing industry, the decline of the Cod, and sustainability.
Other useful links
Coasts and oceans
Information about coastal and marine legislation, policies and programmes developed and implemented by the Australian Government Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts are available on this site. Topics include pollution, introduced marine pests, marine species conservation and climate change.
Marine Education Society of Australasia
The Marine Education Society of Australasia provides information from its brief monthly newsletter about aspects of seas and oceans. Topics include : Southern Ocean, Ocean Exploration, The Blue Layer, Sand Dunes, Southern Saltmarshes and Mangroves, Great Barrier Reef, Kelp Forests, Rocky Reefs and Open Beaches.
Oceanic Research Group
Oceanic Research Group, Inc. is a non-profit organisation dedicated to the conservation of the world's oceans and marine life through education. Watch webisodes (5 half-hour television programs) and other education films and download study guides to accompany them.
UN atlas of the oceans
The UN Atlas of the Oceans provides information on the world's oceans and seas.The site has maps, images, statistics, and other information on topics such as the uses of the oceans, issues related to their use ( eg. coastal management), geography and science. Other topics include how the oceans were formed, how they are changing, and their dynamics.
marinebio.org The ocean is one of Earth's most valuable natural resources. It provides food in the form of fish and shellfish—about 200 billion pounds are caught each year. It's used for transportation—both travel and shipping. It provides a treasured source of recreation for humans. It is mined for minerals (salt, sand, gravel, and some manganese, copper, nickel, iron, and cobalt can be found in the deep sea) and drilled for crude oil.
HERMIONE- Hotspot Ecosystem Research and Man's Impact On European Seas. The marine environment provides us with a lot of resources and services - some which we use everyday, like oil, gas and fish, and some which we don't really think about in everyday life, like climate regulation and waste management.
ANCORS- The Australian National Centre for Ocean Resources and Security