Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Footnote
The Footnote/ Bibliography method requires two elements: footnotes throughout your assignment, and a bibliography or list of references at the end.
State Library of NSW PIP Guide
Selected sections of the award winning Personal Interest Projects have been digitised to show excellence in various areas related to the construction of the PIP's.
The difference between resources
Recipe for Research- A six step process
Throughout high school, you will be asked to complete research assignments for many of your classes. Your final product might be a paper, a project or an oral presentation. This guide offers a six-step process for acquiring and organizing information for a research assignment, with emphasis on writing a paper.
How to write an Annotated Bibliography
A bibliography is an alphabetical list, by author, of the sources (books, journals, websites, etc) you have used to research and write your assignment. A bibliography usually includes information such as the author, title, publisher and date. An annotation is a concise summary and/or evaluation of the value or relevance of each source. An annotated bibliography combines these two elements and provides bibliographic information plus a summary and/ or evaluation of each of the sources you have used. An annotated bibliography may be one part of a larger assessment item.
Oxford Referencing Guide
The Oxford Referencing style is a note citation system.It is also sometimes referred to as a documentary-note style. It has two components:
- Footnote Citation
- Reference List
Online Referencing Generator
Primary v's Seconday Sources
How to write a Literature Review
A literature review is a critical analysis of published sources, or literature, on a particular topic. It is an assessment of the literature and provides a summary, classification, comparison and evaluation.
How to read an academic paper
Researchers spend a great deal of time reading research papers. However, this skill is rarely taught, leading to much wasted effort. This article outlines a practical and efficient three-pass method for reading research papers.