Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Resources in Accessit
Here are some books that you may find useful during your studies. Search the Bennies catalogue Accessit for more, or browse the Non-fiction collection NFS..
Land Abuse and Soil Erosion
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
The Geology of Australia by
Publication Date: 2004-08-24
The Geology of Australia provides a vivid and informative account of the evolution of the Australian continent over the past 4400 million years. Starting with the Precambrian rocks which hold clues to the origins of life and the development of an oxygenated atmosphere, it then covers the warms seas, volcanism and multiple orogenies of the Palaeozoic, which built the eastern third of the Australian continent. This illuminating history then details the breakup of Gondwana and the development of the continental shelves and coastlines. Separate chapters cover the origin of the Great Barrier Reef, the basalts in Eastern Australia and the geology of the Solar System. From Uluru to the Great Dividing Range, from sapphires to the stars, The Geology of Australia is a comprehensive exploration of the timeless forces that have shaped this continent and that continue to do so.
N.S.W Office of Environment and Heritage
Water Management- NSW Government
Water is a limited and precious resource and must be managed both for immediate needs and for long-term economic and environmental sustainability. With the effects of climate change now a reality, and increasing demands for water, sound policies are required to ensure a sustainable supply of water for present and future generations.
Australian Government- Department of Environment
Salinity is a measure of the content of salts in soil or water. Salts are highly soluble in surface and groundwater and can be transported with water movement. Large salt deposits are a natural feature of vast areas of the Australian landscape, stored deep in soils or as surface salt deposits and salt lakes. This natural distribution of salt in the landscape is referred to as 'primary salinity'.
Current Environmental Issues
Current Environmental Issues is a collection of newspaper articles presenting current issues facing the environment and the people and technologies overcoming environmental challenges. Articles cover topics including waste disposal, renewable energy, wildlife conservation and activism.
Current Social Issues
Current Social Issues is a collection of newspaper articles presenting current issues in society including human rights, ethics, politics, war and science. Articles cover topics including cloning, education, immigration, crime, censorship. Very useful for students studying society, culture, current affairs and global issues.
This journal is designed for teachers and students of geography and environmental studies. Topics include environmentalism, conservation, politics, water supply, health and global finance. Includes maps and diagrams to further illustrate the topic issues.
This journal covers issues in the environment, natural history, biology, conservationism, geography and current affairs. Published by the National Geographic Society, a non-profit organisation determined to increase widespread geographic knowledge.
Landcare groups have formed all across Australia, and in over 20 countries around the world. The cornerstones of Landcare are being community owned and driven, being bi-partisan in nature, and encouraging integrated management of environmental assets, including productive farmland and a sustainable approach to private land management.
National Report by Australia on Measures Taken to Support Implementation of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification
Commonwealth Intergovernmental Working Group for the UNCCD, April 2002
Australian Bureau of Statisics
This commentary focuses on a form of land degradation in Australia of particular concern: dryland salinity. At the end of the 1990s, about 5.7 million hectares (ha) of Australia were assessed as having a high potential to develop dryland salinity through shallow or rising watertables.
I.D the population experts
Census data provides a rich snapshot of the nation and informs government, community and business.