It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visitors should be aware that this Research Guide may contain images or documentation relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who are deceased.
Mount St Benedict College acknowledges and pays respect to the past, present and future Traditional Custodians and Elders of this nation and the continuation of cultural, spiritual and educational practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Ancestors have walked this country and we acknowledge their special and unique place in our nation’s historical, cultural and linguistic identity.
Learning the language These are language lessons developed by Richard Green for use in teaching the language. They explain the process of reclamation.
Strong cultural identity enables one to feel proud of themselves, and speaking and maintaining ones language raises self-esteem and enables one to feel good about themselves. Traditional language is important for maintaining strong cultural connections. Where traditional languages have been taken away from communities, a sense of loss, grief and inadequacy develops. To keep communities and generations strong, traditional language being passed from one generation to another is vital.
Language carries culture, but what happens if it is lost at an alarming rate? Learn about the struggle to keep languages alive.
Waabiny Time - Series 1 is a children’s variety program that celebrates Noongar Language in a community and family themed environment. The presenters, Kylie Farmer and Lee West, entertain children between ages 3 to 6 and take them on a colourful adventure with stories, songs, dance and craft activities.
The production aims to entertain, preserve Indigenous language while telling stories, and showcase the rich diversity of Indigenous culture and creative talent.
Waabiny Time is the first Indigenous early childhood language program and involved early childhood educators and Noongar language specialists in every stage of the project. Each episode, each segment, and each sentence has been crafted to address the learning needs of young people and familiarise them with Indigenous language.
Little J, he's five and Big Cuz, she's nine. They're a couple of Indigenous Australian kids living with their Nanna and Old Dog. All their friends are nearby, and school is just a stroll away along a bush track.
From the Australian Broadcasting Commission. These resources are a great start to learning about the many Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages and how important they are to all Australians.
Multicultural Children's Services Program at ECSC is proud to present this Acknowledgement of Country video produced in partnership with the children, families and educators of Summer Hill Children's Centre.
Darug woman Jacinta Tobin and Gadigal man Joel Davison lead classes developed to provide a foundational understanding of the local language. Be part of the reawakening of the Aboriginal Language of Sydney, also known as Eora or Darug language.
Dharug-dalang greeting song. Written in the language of the Darug people, the Aboriginal people of Western Sydney.
Explore some of the challenges facing many Aboriginal languages and how one man is trying to preserve these 'ancient words'. Consider, too, why languages are important.
The map was developed along with the Encyclopedia of Aboriginal Australia as part of a research project. The Encyclopedia is available in libraries and contains more detailed information about the groups represented on the map.
The Rediscovering Indigenous Languages project aims to preserve and revitalise some of the oldest languages in the world by locating, digitising and providing access to Indigenous word lists, language records and other cultural documents.
Two-volume encyclopaedia providing extensive information about Aboriginal Australia, before and after European settlement. Entries discuss its people, culture, lifestyles, history and geography and cover major themes and subjects, sub-topics, and individual people and places.
Austlang provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages. AUSTLANG can be searched with language names (including a range of spellings); placenames and via the codes if you already know them. Austlang has links to MURA the AIATSIS catalogue; OZBIB, a curated bibliography about Indigenous Australian languages; and other online resources.
The Australian Indigenous Languages Collection at AIATSIS is their main source of research and is continually updated with research outcomes. It now contains over 4300 titles and has been independently found to be of such world significance that it has been placed on the UNESCO Australian Memory of the World Register.
Pathways contains the terms used to describe the items in the AIATSIS Collections. Including, a thesaurus for subjects relating to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, language groups and people, and place names.
CALL is a language centre based in the Division of Higher Education and Research at Batchelor Institute. Languge project support includes language recording and documentation, publication, training, research, and resource development for language learning.
Working with the old people of the Pilbara, they use their expertise, knowled
Word Up podcast
Languages Map- Reconciliation NSW
This map shows how NSW is made up of around 50 different Aboriginal nations, each with their own language or language group.
The diverse languages of black Australia from Anmatyerre to Arrernte, from Bidjara to Bundjalung, from Nyungar to Ngaanyatjarra, from Yankunytjatjara to Yorta Yorta — one word at a time.
First Languages Australia
First Languages Australia is working toward a future where Aboriginal language communities and Torres Strait Islander language communities have full command of their languages and can use them as much as they wish to.
Rediscovering Indigenous Language
The Rediscovering Indigenous Languages project aims to make accessible the rich archival collections of the State Library of New South Wales. The site features historic word lists, records and other documents relating to Indigenous Australian languages.
Holding our Tongues
Holding our tongues is a Hindsight project about the long and painful task of reviving Aboriginal languages. Click on the place names on the map below to listen to examples of language, watch archival video or find more information.
State Library NSW
Indigenous Language Resources for NSW
Teaching and Learning on Darug Country
Welcome to Learning and Teaching in Darug country. You can see the Sydney CBD on the home page. This is Cadigal country, one of the many Darug clans of the Sydney region. Darug country extends from the Sydney CBD to the Blue Mountains, and is one of five main groups of Aboriginal people living in the Sydney region today.
ABC Mother Tongue
ABC Open celebrates NAIDOC with Mother Tongue, sharing Australia's first languages.